Wednesday, August 24, 2011

bench3

Managing Document Versions And Auto Save Features In Office Documents

If you enable AutoRecover or AutoSave, your file (such as a Microsoft Office Word document) or item (such as an Outlook e-mail message) is automatically saved as often as you want. Therefore, if you have been working for a long time but forget to save a file or if your power goes out, the file you have been working on contains all or at least some of the work you have done since you last saved it.

Sometimes a Microsoft Office program closes before you can save changes to a file you are working on. Some possible causes include:

➜ A power outage occurs.

➜ Your system is made unstable by another program.

➜ Something goes wrong with the Microsoft Office program itself.

Although you can't always prevent problems such as these from happening, you can take steps to protect your work when an Office program closes abnormally.

Like other Office programs, Word automatically saves a temporary copy of an open file every 10 minutes. If you close a file without saving it, you can return to the most  recently saved temporary version. You can also display the temporary copies of files that you started but never saved.

How To change the AutoSave frequency

On the Save page of the Word Options dialog box, in the Save AutoRecover information every box, enter a number of minutes from 1 through 120.

In case if you are recovering from your file after a power failure or so, the amount of new information that the recovered file contains depends on how frequently a Microsoft Office program saves the recovery file. For example, if the recovery file is saved only every 15 minutes, your recovered file won't contain your last 14 minutes of work before the power failure or other problem occurred.

Managing Document Versions And Auto Save Features In Office Documents

How To display a previous (saved) version of the current document

On the Info page of the Backstage view, in the Versions list, click the version of the file you want to display.

How To replace the current file with a previous version

  • Display the previous version of the file.
  • On the Autosaved Version bar that appears below the ribbon, click Restore.

Although not every aspect of your program's state can be recovered, in many cases, the Recovery feature can help you recover more quickly.

How To display a temporary (unsaved) version of a document

  • On the Info page of the Backstage view, click the Manage Versions button, and then click Recover Unsaved Documents.
  • In the Open dialog box displaying the contents of your UnsavedFiles folder, click the file you want to display, and then click Open.

How To delete temporary document versions

  • On the Info page of the Backstage view, click the Manage Versions button, and then click Delete All Unsaved Documents.
  • In the dialog box prompting you to confirm the deletion, click Yes.

bench3

About bench3 -

Haja Peer Mohamed H, Software Engineer by profession, Author, Founder and CEO of "bench3" you can connect with me on Twitter , Facebook and also onGoogle+

Subscribe to this Blog via Email :