Monday, November 28, 2011

bench3

Delete Your Facebook Account | Step-by-Step Instructions

Facebook is one of the dominant social networking sites in the world. Facebook lets you create Friend Lists and share photos, videos, links, status updates, and much more with your friends. As you discover how this social networking site works, use this handy reference to help you find people on Facebook, communicate with friends, and figure out what to do as soon as you log in.

But chances are there for few who want to delete their Facebook profile for various reasons. And this post is to help you delete your Facebook account.

If you’ve ever tried to locate the Facebook passageway that takes you through the steps to permanently delete your account, you know it’s not easy to find. That’s because the popular social networking Web site doesn't present an obvious “delete my account” button.

Delete Your Facebook Account  Step-by-Step Instructions 1

Deactivating your Facebook account is not the same thing as deleting it. While deactivating your profile makes it unavailable for searches or public viewing, Facebook still keeps all of your information in the hopes that you’ll reactivate — a process that’s instantaneous when you log back on.

If this seems a bit confusing, don’t despair. There is a fairly simple way to secede from the Facebook nation. Just follow these few steps.

Log on to your Facebook account.

While your Facebook page is visible (that is once you logged into the facebook profile that you wish to delete), (Click on the below link) or copy and paste this link into your Web address bar and click enter:

http://www.facebook.com/help/contact.php?show_form=delete_accountDelete Your Facebook Account  Step-by-Step Instructions

Read the text on this screen to make sure you understand what you are doing (how ever you don’t want to read, as this is just a way to make you alert that you are deleting your Facebook profile) and then click “Submit.”

Delete Your Facebook Account  Step-by-Step Instructions_

The “Permanently Delete Account” screen will automatically pop up.

Type your Facebook account password, along with the security check words given on your screen, in the fields provided.

Delete Facebook Account  Step-by-Step Instructions 1

That’s all there is to it. You should receive an e-mail from Facebook confirming that you’ve chosen to delete your account. The e-mail will also tell you that your profile’s been deactivated and will be deleted within the next 14 days.

If you’re not a do-it-yourselfer, you can e-mail Facebook and ask them to delete your account.

Send your request to privacy@facebook.com. If Facebook doesn’t respond, e-mail them again, but also send the e-mail to support@facebook.com and info@facebook.com.

During the two weeks you’re waiting for Facebook to delete your account, don’t log on to the site. Doing so will automatically reactivate your profile and you’ll have to go though these account deletion steps all over again.

If you want to make sure you don’t inadvertently rejoin Facebook, make sure you delete any site-related cookies and Web browser history. Also, don’t click on any Facebook links while you’re visiting other sites until the 14-day waiting period is past.

bench3

About bench3 -

Haja Peer Mohamed H, Software Engineer by profession, Author, Founder and CEO of "bench3" you can connect with me on Twitter , Facebook and also onGoogle+

Subscribe to this Blog via Email :